Wednesday, October 28, 2009

EU-Ukraine Parliamentary Cooperation Committee

The 13th meeting of the EU-Ukraine Parliamentary Cooperation Committee took place in Kiev on 26-27th October at the Verkhovna Rada. The meeting ended with a press conference, during which Co-Chairmen Pawel Kowal and Borys Tarasyuk presented a `Final Statement and Recommendations`.

Vice-Chairwoman of the delegation Vilija Blinkeviciute, Kristian Vigenin and Marek Siwiec represented the Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialist and Democrats.

Among the main issues discussed during the meeting were the Association Agreement and Ukraine`s aspirations for EU integration, the upcoming Presidential elections due to be held on 17 January 2010, Constitutional reforms and changes in the electoral law, visa facilitation agreement and the Eastern Partnership.

The EU delegation also had an exchange of views with the representatives of NGOs and civil society, Ambassador of Sweden to Ukraine on behalf of the Presidency-in-office of the Council of the EU, Head of EC Delegation in Ukraine and EU MS.

Meeting were also held with Speaker of the Verkhovna Rada Volodymyr Lytvyn,Deputy Prime Minister Hryhoriy Nemyrya, President of Ukraine Viktor Yuschenko and also with Arseniy Yatsenyuk.

The 14th meeting of the EU-Ukraine Parliamentary Cooperation Committee will take place in Brussels in March 2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment